Home / Sélection FB Doc / Vers un Pacte Economique Européen au lieu d’un Pacte de Stabilité (Franck Biancheri, 2003)
Vers un Pacte Economique Européen au lieu d’un Pacte de Stabilité (Franck Biancheri, 2003)

Vers un Pacte Economique Européen au lieu d’un Pacte de Stabilité (Franck Biancheri, 2003)

Le budget italien pour 2019 retoqué? Qu’à cela ne tienne, ce budget italien est la réponse à l’entêtement austéritaire de l’Europe (Le Taurillon, 30/10/2018) et à son obsession de “chargés de compte” de la stricte application d’un Pacte depuis longtemps dépassé, qui est comme le soulignait Franck Biancheri dans cet article de 2003: “un Pacte d’Instabilité politique programmée“. C’est en effet une coalition gouvernementale italienne de droite nationaliste et de gauche populiste (cf l’article de Süddeutsche du 23/10/2018) qui s’oppose aujourd’hui au bras de fer avec les institutions européennes. Tout comme “il était illusoire d’imaginer qu’un gouvernement élu s’incline devant des autorités administratives (Commission et BCE) au risque de perdre les élections suivantes; et que s’il le faisait, on pouvait être certain que cela allait nourrir les extrêmes droites et gauches et renforcer les tendances anti-européennes” il est encore plus illusoire de s’imaginer qu’un tel gouvernement issu de ces extrêmes s’y applique… Sans doute est-il malheureusement trop tard aujourd’hui pour envisager “la marche vers un pacte économique européen qui aurait pu assurer la prospérité des citoyens …

Un Pacte économique européen correspond à une exigence politique et économique de l’UE alors que le Pacte de stabilité n’est qu’un fantasme de banquier (centraux ou autres) qui n’a aucun sens politique, ni aucun sens économique.

L’UE a besoin d’un Pacte qui garantisse son développement économique et social ainsi que sa cohésion. Avec l’introduction de l’Euro, la première exigence devient fondamentale pour assurer la prospérité de l’ensemble de l’EuroLand (plus personne ne s’en sortira sans les autres) ; et du fait de l’élargissement, l’exigence de cohérence se renforce puisque la disparité des membres s’accroît.

Donc, en effet, il faut bien un Pacte économique européen dont le noyau dur est la zone Euro.

Mais doit-on avoir un Pacte de Stabilité ?

Dès l’origine, nombre d’observateurs politiques européens (dont votre serviteur) ont fait remarquer qu’il était illusoire d’imaginer qu’un gouvernement élu s’incline devant des autorités administratives (Commission et BCE) au risque de perdre les élections suivantes ; et que s’il le faisait, on pouvait être certain que cela allait nourrir les extrêmes droites et gauches et renforcer les tendances anti-européennes. Contrairement à ce que nombre de bureaucrates (fonctionnaires ou banquiers) peuvent croire, une démocratie se gère efficacement par des méthodes démocratiques, et non pas par des règles administratives.

Le face-à-face des tandems ‘politique/opinion publique’ et ‘eurocrates/banquiers centraux’ ne peut avoir comme conséquence qu’un accroissement de l’instabilité politique et sociale de l’UE.

En ce sens, le fameux Pacte (de stabilité) est un Pacte d’Instabilité politique programmée.

Cette instabilité est d’ailleurs là. Il suffit de constater combien les débats sur la valeur, la validité, l’utilité, le respect … du Pacte de Stabilité occupent les médias européens pour se rendre compte que loin de stabiliser l’UE, il déstabilise les Européens. Les échanges virulents entre leaders politiques européens, les accusations mutuelles de « mépriser les petits » ou d’ « ignorer les contraintes des grands » sont devenues quotidiennes et commencent à empoisonner le débat public européen comme les enceintes destinées à préparer l’avenir (exemple, les débats à la Convention Intergouvernementale sur la future Constitution).

Donc instabilité politique croissante, agressivité renforcée du débat européen, danger sur les décisions concernant l’avenir, voilà déjà un beau bilan pour notre fameux Pacte. Mais, me direz-vous, tout cela est sérieux ! Il s’agit de notre avenir commun, de notre prospérité à tous ! Alors la prospérité de demain vaut bien quelques tensions aujourd’hui.

Cela irait sans dire s’il s’agissait bien de cela. Mais, hélas, il n’en est rien. Où sont les fondements économiques du Pacte de Stabilité ? Où sont les « lois « économiques qui fixent à 3% le déficit budgétaire ou à 60% du PIB la dette publique ? Et à 2% l’objectif d’inflation maximale ? Nulle part !

Qu’il faille des règles ? Absolument. Qu’une fois fixée, tout le monde, sans exception, s’y tiennent ? Totalement. Mais, que ces règles répondent au principe de réalité, et non pas à des fantasmes de contrôleurs budgétaires, ou de « baby-boomers » vieillissants valorisant la stabilité à tout prix au détriment de l’évolution et de la dynamique.

Le principe de réalité actuellement (et j’insiste sur ce mot car au XXI° siècle la réalité est mouvante … et rend peu efficace les règles intangibles) nous impose de constater que l’Euro venant de se mettre en place, tout le monde en Europe, des banquiers centraux aux gouvernements en passant par les acteurs économiques et les citoyens découvrent l’immense étendue de son impact sur nos systèmes économiques et sociaux ; et apprend au jour le jour à l’intégrer dans ses stratégies. Nous sommes donc dans une phase d’apprentissage qui durera encore 2 à 4 années. Si nous sommes dans une phase d’apprentissage, quatre conclusions simples s’imposent :

  • personne n’a la vérité absolue sur l’Euro et la gestion de la zone Euro : pas plus les banquiers centraux que les ministres des finances ou bien les entreprises et les syndicats ou encore les économistes;
  • la flexibilité est nécessaire pendant quelques années pour éviter de « violer » une nouvelle réalité économique que nous connaissons encore si mal (et au lieu d’avoir une flexibilité imposée par la réalité et qui empoisonne l’atmosphère communautaire, choisissons – là);
  • il faut « récompenser » les acteurs qui réussissent au lieu d’être obsédés par la « punition » des joueurs en difficulté. Dans une situation encore mal connue, il est en effet plus facile (pratiquement et légitimement) de discerner ceux qui a priori semblent agir dans le « bon sens » que de chercher à condamner ceux qui ne jouent pas bien;
  • il est nécessaire d’être inventifs pour stimuler les acteurs notamment en s’éloignant de la seule panoplie bancaire des « sanctions » (la notion de sanctions budgétaires pour un pays déjà en déficit budgétaire est totalement inepte, économiquement et politiquement) pour explorer le duo « récompense-sanction » dont dispose l’UE (par exemple, primes aux fonds régionaux ou structurels communautaires, ou au contraire suppression d’une partie de ces fonds selon « comportement Euro », accumulation de points de déficits cumulables dans les périodes positives pour être disponibles dans les périodes sombres « budget euromiles »).

En résumé, la méthode, les critères et les instruments sont inadéquats dans l’actuel Pacte de Stabilité.

En conséquence de quoi, la marche vers un pacte économique européen peut s’envisager sereinement :

  1. fixer les objectifs avec une marge de manœuvre progressivement réduite d’ici 2006 (date du grand rendez – vous budgétaire européen);
  2. orienter le pacte vers la prospérité (idéal partageable par tous les Européens) et non pas la stabilité (un conce pt antinomique avec l’avenir);
  3. innover dans les instruments en passant d’une logique de sanction à une logique d’incitation (notamment en mobilisant les politiques communautaires à vocation structurelle).

L’Euro ne réussira économiquement et politiquement (les deux sont indissociables) que si sa gestion n’est pas fondée sur des comportements de chargés de compte sanctionnant des débits non autorisés.

FB vignetteFranck Biancheri, 24/11/2003: Vers un Pacte Economique Européen au lieu d’un Pacte de Stabilité (pdf à télécharger)

Plus d’articles de Franck Biancheri: Franck Biancheri Documentation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top

Home / FB Doc Selection / Towards a European Prosperity Pact in place of the Stability Pact (Franck Biancheri, 2003)
Towards a European Prosperity Pact in place of the Stability Pact (Franck Biancheri, 2003)

Towards a European Prosperity Pact in place of the Stability Pact (Franck Biancheri, 2003)

The Italian budget for 2019 refused? Never mind, this Italian budget is the answer to the austerity stubbornness of the European institutions (Le Taurillon, 30/10/2018) and their obsession as “account managers” to hold on the strict application of an updated Pact, which was as Frank Biancheri pointed out in this article of 2003: “ a predictable Pact of Instability“. It is indeed an Italian “right nationalist and left populist” government coalition  (Süddeutsche, 23/10/2018) which opposes today the arm wrestling with the European institutions. Just like “it was delusive to imagine elected governments obeying some supra-national administrative authorities (Commission or ECB) with the risk to lose the next elections; and that if they did, there would be a great danger to nurture extreme-rights and lefts, and to reinforce anti-European trends” it is even more illusory to imagine that such a government from these extremes applies to it… It is unfortunately too late today for consider the “march towards a European economic pact” a “Prosperity Pact” for the citizens …

A European Prosperity Pact should match EU’s political and economic requirements, to preserve the good coherence and coordination of the different economic, financial, monetary and social components of the European community. In a moving and dynamic world, this pact should by no means impose stability, rigid rules and bank-style constraints.

Therefore, Europe does need a European Prosperity Pact with a Euroland nucleus.

However, should we have a Stability Pact?

Since the beginning, many European political observers (among whom your servant) mentioned the fact that it was delusive to imagine elected governments obeying some supra – national administrative authorities (Commission or ECB) with the risk to lose the next elections; and that if they did, there would be a great danger to nurture extreme-rights and lefts, and to reinforce anti-European trends. Contrary to what many bureaucrats (civil servants or bankers) may think, a democracy can only be run efficiently through democratic methods, not through administrative rules.

The face-to-face between « politicians / public opinion » on the one hand and « Eurocrats / central bankers » on the other can only result in an increased political and s ocial instability of the EU.

In this sense, this Pact is a predictable Pact of Instability.

In fact instability is already here. It is enough to notice how much of the European media’s space is occupied by debates on the value, validity, utility, respect… of the Stability Pact, to become aware that far from stabilising the EU, it destabilises the Europeans. Violent exchanges among European political leaders, mutual accusations of « neglecting the small ones » or « ignoring the big ones’ constraints », each day embitters the European public debate as well as those circles in charge of preparing the future (for instance, IGC debates on the future Constitution).

Growing political instability, strengthened aggressiveness within the European debate, dangers wei ghing on decisions regarding our future, … here are the main achievements of this Pact.

But, I could be retorted: these are serious issues! Our common future, everyone’s prosperity is at stake! Tomorrow’s prosperity is worth a few tensions today!

I would willingly agree if that was true. Alas, this is not the case! Where are the economic bases of the Stability Pact? Where are the economic « laws » that limit budget deficits to 3%, or public debt to 60%? Or maximum inflation to 2%? No where!

That rules a re needed? Absolutely. That once fixed, everyone (without exceptions) should respect them? Certainly. But these rules should take into consideration reality rather than fantasies of budget controllers or of aging “baby – boomers” who value stability at any c ost to the detriment of development and dynamics.

Reality today (I insist on this word because in the 21st century, reality is moving… and inviolable rules have short – term utility) imposes us to consider that the Euro having only recently been establishe d, everyone in Europe, from central bankers to government, as much as economic actors and citizens, are just discovering the extent of its impact on our economic and social systems. We are all at the beginning of a learning process that will last 2 to 4 mo re years. Three simple conclusions derive from this statement:

  • no one owns the truth about the Euro and about the way to manage the Euro zone: neither central bankers nor finance ministers, companies, trade – unions, economists. Theory of what Euro would be gave birth to the Stability Pact rules; now for about 2 years, we have been experimenting Euro in vivo. As any scientist knows well, theory rarely fit experiments at first try. Experiments should then nurture theory in order to improve it and adapt it to reality. Which is where we stand now with the Euro and the Pact.
  • flexibility is required for a few years in order to avoid the “violation” of this new economic reality that we know little (instead of letting flexibility be imposed by reality, thus embit tering the European atmosphere, let’s choose it)
  • successful actors should be rewarded rather than players – in – difficulty punished. In an badly known situation, it is indeed easier (practically and legitimately) to remark those who seem to act in the « right direction » than try to condemn those who do not play well
  • it is therefore necessary to be inventive in order to stimulate the actors, namely by abandoning the bank – style range of « sanctions » (this notion of budgetary sanctions for countries in a bud get deficit is economically and politically inept) and rather try to explore the « reward – sanction » possibilities available in the EU (for instance, bonuses to regional or structural funds, or on suppression of part of these funds according to the « Euro – behaviour », accumulation of deficit points in the positive periods to be made available in the dark « euromiles budget » periods).

To make a long story short, the criteria and instruments are inadequate in the present Stability Pact. Knowing this, the march towards a European economic pact can be envisaged more calmly:

  1. fixing objectives in a way that includes a gradually disappearing operational margin until 2006 (the next big European meeting in terms of budget)
  2. aiming the pact at prosperity (an idea that can be shared among all Europeans) rather than at stability (a concept opposed to the future)
  3. innovating in terms of instruments, going from sanctions to incentives (using in particular the possibilities of EU structural policies)

The Euro can not succeed economically and politically (both are linked) if its management is based on behaviours of bank account managers sanctioning non-authorised debits.

FB vignetteFranck Biancheri, 25/11/2003: Towards a European Prosperity Pact in place of the Stability Pact (download pdf file)

More articles:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top