Home / Sélection FB Doc / 6 Octobre 2004 : le jour où la Commission européenne torpilla l’adoption de la future constitution -Franck Biancheri (2004)

6 Octobre 2004 : le jour où la Commission européenne torpilla l’adoption de la future constitution -Franck Biancheri (2004)

… in fine on pourra donc dire le 6 Octobre que, par sa probable décision positive sur la Turquie, la Commission aura « tué » le projet de Constitution européenne. Et le plus ironique c’est que la Turquie ne rentrera pas pour autant dans l’Union européenne au cours des décennies suivantes !

Initialement le titre de ce texte écrit quelques semaines avant la décision de la Commission européenne portait un « ? ». Le 6 octobre 2004, le doute n’était plus permis, et le « ? » pouvait être retiré, la Commission européenne recommanda à l’Union d’entamer des négociations en vue de l’adhésion de la Turquie: « La réponse que la Commission apporte aujourd’hui est celle d’un OUI. C’est-à-dire d’une réponse positive sur le respect des critères, et d’une recommandation positive sur l’ouverture des négociations. » (Discours de Romano Prodi sur la candidature de la Turquie (Bruxelles, 6 octobre 2004) – source: CVCE). Elle avait  bel et bien torpillé l’adoption de la future Constitution européenne, comme allait le prouver les résultats des référendums organisés en 2005 dans différents états-membres.

∴ 6 Octobre 2004 : le jour où la Commission européenne torpilla l’adoption de la future constitution -Franck Biancheri (21/09/2004)

Le 6 Octobre prochain (2004) la Commission européenne doit rendre son verdict sur l’aptitude de la Turquie à entamer des négociations d’adhésion à l’Union européenne. J’ai déjà eu l’occasion d’expliquer dans ces colonnes, il y a de nombreux mois, qu’une réponse positive (même assortie d’un « mais » qui de toute façon ne pourrait pas être trop négatif faute de rendre incompréhensible la décision) de la part de la Commission entraînerait automatiquement un « oui, mais » quasi-identique du Conseil européen en Décembre et se traduirait par une victoire du « Non » lors des prochains référenda sur la Constitution européenne.

S’il y a encore quelques mois, l’optimisme régnait quant à la victoire du « Oui » au référendum qui vont se tenir sur le continent, l’ambiance a déjà changé et aujourd’hui, en France par exemple, le « Non » semble déjà pouvoir l’emporter.

Parallèlement la plupart de ceux qui niaient il y a encore peu de temps que la question de la Turquie  pouvait préoccuper les citoyens et de ce fait avoir un impact sur le vote lors des référenda, sont revenus de leurs illusions et doivent constater deux tendances désormais évidentes :

  • la question turque préoccupe l’opinion publique
  • un « Oui » à la Turquie profitera automatiquement et dans une proportion significative au camp du « Non » (alors qu’il n’apportera pas une seule voix au camp du « Oui »).

Mais me direz-vous, pourquoi faire de la Commission le responsable de la déroute des référenda ? C’est encore faire de la Commission le « bouc émissaire » des décisions politiques de l’UE. Que nos dirigeants politiques assument eux-mêmes leurs choix !

Certes, la Commission est, dans le cas de la Turquie, l’instrument d’un processus déclenché à une époque (les années 60) et dans un monde (celui de la Guerre froide) qui sont morts tous les deux; mais elle est aussi censée incarner l’intérêt communautaire. Elle a donc une marge de manœuvre réelle et peut soit servir fidèlement les décisions prises il y a 40 ans et appliquer sans vision politique (ou avec une vision politique non exprimée et pour laquelle elle n’a aucun mandat historique ou populaire : l’UE comme « pont entre les civilisations ») les «fameux critères de « Copenhague », pour conclure à ce « Oui, mais » à la Turquie qui détournera les électeurs du « Oui » à la Constitution.

Soit, elle assume pleinement son rôle de défenseur de l’intérêt communautaire et accepte de regarder la réalité politique européenne d’aujourd’hui (et de demain) en face, comme l’ont fait d’ailleurs plusieurs Commissaires ces dernières semaines, et constate que politiquement sa décision est limitée par deux faits désormais indéniables :

  • les Européens sont très largement opposés à l’entrée de la Turquie dans l’UE dans un avenir même lointain
  • les institutions européennes (notamment celles que le projet de Constitution propose) ne pourront pas fonctionner avec la Turquie qui deviendrait le pivot du système politique communautaire

Enfin, la Commission, dans un monde où le système communautaire fonctionnerait dans la réalité européenne et non pas dans un système virtuel de lobbies et de « tour d’ivoire » reconnaîtrait que le Conseil, dans sa grande majorité, lui demande en fait une seule chose : « faire un rapport plutôt négatif sur la question turque ». Et ce, afin de pouvoir s’orienter vers un nouveau délai assorti cette fois-ci de propositions pour un partenariat d’un autre type avec Ankara.

Si la Commission fait un rapport trop positif, et conclu qu’il n’y a pas d’obstacles majeurs à l’ouverture des négociations, alors le Conseil suivra car aucun des chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement ne veut prendre le risque d’apparaître comme le « méchant » et voir sanctionner ses intérêts économiques et ses relations bilatérales avec la Turquie.

Donc la «Commission sait que si elle dit « Oui », elle force la main du Conseil dans la même direction. En ce sens, par faiblesse, le Conseil partagera la responsabilité de l’échec des référenda puisqu’aucun de ses membres n’a visiblement la stature d’ un « Homme d’Etat européen », capable de placer l’intérêt collectif européen au-dessus de ses intérêts nationaux.

Mais in fine on pourra donc dire le 6 Octobre que, par sa probable décision positive sur la Turquie, la Commission aura « tué » le projet de Constitution européenne. Et le plus ironique c’est que la Turquie ne rentrera pas pour autant dans l’Union européenne au cours des décennies suivantes !

Avoir l’exécutif européen qui provoque l’échec du principal projet politique communautaire ne restera pas sans conséquences graves. Cette décision entraînera donc une crise européenne majeure en 2005/2006 qui conduira à revoir tous les fondements de l’actuel processus communautaire.

Franck Biancheri, 21/09/2004

logo-pdfTélécharger le pdf: 6 Octobre 2004 : le jour où la Commission européenne torpilla l’adoption de la future constitution

Download pdf-file: The 6th of October 2004 : The Day that the European Commission Torpedoes the Future Constitution

Lire d’autres articles de Franck Biancheri:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top

Home / FB Doc Selection / The 6th of October 2004 : The Day that the European Commission Torpedoes the Future Constitution -Franck Biancheri (2004)

The 6th of October 2004 : The Day that the European Commission Torpedoes the Future Constitution -Franck Biancheri (2004)

… in fine, we can say on the 6 th  of October that, because of the probable positive report on Turkey, the Commission will be responsible for “killing” the project that was the European Constitution. The ultimate irony being that Turkey will still not enter the European Union for decades to come!

Initially the title of this text written a few weeks before the decision of the European Commission bore a “?“. On October 6, 2004, doubt was no longer allowed, and the “?” could be withdrawn, the European Commission recommended the Union to start negotiations for Turkey’s accession: “The Commission’s response today is that of a YES. A positive response on meeting the criteria, and a positive recommendation on the opening of negotiations.” (Speech by Romano Prodi on the candidacy of Turkey (Brussels, 6 October 2004) – source: CVCE). It had indeed torpedoed the adoption of the future European Constitution, as would prove the results of the referendums organized in 2005 in different member-states.

∴ The 6th of October 2004 : The Day that the European Commission Torpedoes the Future Constitution -Franck Biancheri (21/09/2004)

On  this  coming  6th  of  October,  the  European  Commission  will  announce  its  verdict  as  to  the ability  of  Turkey  to  begin  accession  negotiations  with  the  European  Union.  I  have  already  on several  occasions and in this very column explained that an affirmation to the Turkish question (even  if  accompanied  by  a  “but”  which  in  and  of  itself  would  not  impact  the  outcome  of  the decision  in  a  substantial  manner)  on  behalf  of  the  Commission  would  lead  to  a  quasi-identical “yes,  but”  on  behalf  of  the  European  Council  in  December  which  in  turn  would  translate  into  a “no” vote by the people in the upcoming referenda on the European Constitution.

Only several months ago, it appeared that on the continent optimism was king and that the « yes » vote  for  the  Constitution would win  the  referenda.   However,  this sentiment is rapidly  changing and today, taking France as an example, the “no” vote seems quite able to win the day.

Concurrently,  the  majority  of  those  who  denied  just  recently  that  the  Turkish  question  was important  to  European  citizens  and  that  it  could  indeed  have  an  impact  on  their  votes  in  the referenda have woken up from their dreams and as a result must now acknowledge the following:

  • the Turkish question is a major concern among Europeans
  • a “yes” to Turkey will automatically translate into a landslide victory for the “no” to the Constitution party (where as the “yes” party will not carry any country)

You  probably  would  like  to  ask  why  I  place  the  blame  on  the  Commission?  Isnt’it  once  again, using the Commission as the scapegoat for the political decisions of the EU as a whole. For once, maybe our political leaders should assume the responsibility for their own choices!

Granted, the Commission is, at least in the Turkish case, the instrument of a process launched in an  era  (the  1960’s)  and  in  a  world  (consumed  by  the  Cold  War)  that  no  longer  exist,  but  the Commission  is  nonetheless  in  charge  of  preserving  the  ‘Community’s  interest’.  As  such,  the Commission  has  an  honest  claim  to  the  statement  that  it  is  simply  following  through  with  a decision made some 40 years ago and thus it will adhere to this decision blindly (or maybe with a hidden  political  vision  that  has  neither  historical  nor  popular  support,  i.e.  the  EU  as  a  “bridge between  civilizations”)  and  evoke  the  famous  “Copenhagen  Criteria”  so  as  to  arrive  at  a  “yes, but” for Turkey and thus a “no” to the Constitution.

Either,  the  Commission  assumes  its role  as  the  protector of  the  best interests of  the  community and  it  accepts  the  current  (and  future)  reality  of  European  politics,  as  have  numerous Commissioners  in  the  past  weeks,  that  politically  the  Commissions  decisions  is  limited  by  two outstanding, undeniable facts:

  • Europeans are by and large opposed to the entry of Turkey in the EU even in the distant future
  • The European institutions (notably those proposed within the Constitution) will not work if Turkey becomes the fulcrum of the European political system.

Lastly,  the  Commission,  in  a world in which the communitarian system functions  in  a European reality, and not just in a virtual world of lobbies and an “Ivory Tower,” should recognize that the Council, by  a vast  majority, asks only one  thing,  that the report  on the Turkish  question will be mostly negative.

This  would  then  permit  a  delay  in  negotiations  and  the  beginning  of  talks  on  a  new  type  of partnership with Ankara. If the Commission’s report is heavily positive, and concludes that there are  no  longer  major  obstacles  to  the  opening  of  negotiations,  then  the  Council  will  follow  suit because no Head of State or government can take the risk of being the “evil party” and thus see their economic and bilateral relations with Turkey fractured.

So,  the  Commission  knows  that  if  it  says  “yes”  it  will  force  the  Council  to  follow  in  the  same direction.  In  this manner, out of weakness, the Council  will  share the responsibility for derailing the  Constitutional  referenda  because  none  of  its  members  has  the  stature  of  a  true  “European Head of State”, capable of favouring the European collective interest to national interests.

So, in fine, we can say on the 6 th  of October that, because of the probable positive report on Turkey, the Commission will be responsible for “killing” the project that was the European Constitution. The ultimate irony being that Turkey will still not enter the European Union for decades to come!

Their will  be serious consequences as a  result  of  the  European  executive  forcing  the  loss of the most important political  project of  the  Community. This decision  will lead  to  a major European crisis in 2005/2006 and  cast doubt  as  to all of the most  fundamental  aspects of the Community and its construction.

Franck Biancheri, 21/09/2004

logo-pdfDownload pdf-file: The 6th of October 2004 : The Day that the European Commission Torpedoes the Future Constitution

Télécharger le pdf: 6 Octobre 2004 : le jour où la Commission européenne torpilla l’adoption de la future constitution

More articles by Franck Biancheri:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top